2021 Rock And Roll Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

Today, the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame announced their list of potential inductees for the Class of 2021.

Headlining this year’s list of nominees are Foo Fighters and Jay-Z, who were both nominated in their first year of eligibility. Artists become eligible once they are 25 years removed from their first commercial release. Other first-time nominees in 2021 are Dionne Warwick, Iron Maiden, Mary J. Blige, and Fela Kuti.

Those receiving nominations again, after not making the list of induction in the past, include Rage Against the Machine, New York Dolls, Kate Bush, Devo, Tina Turner, Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, LL Cool J, and Carole King, who recently celebrated her 79th birthday.

A couple of interesting storylines come with the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s announcement today. For Dave Grohl, an induction of Foo Fighters would mark his second induction into the Cleveland Rock Hall. Back in 2014, Nirvana, for whom Grohl served as drummer, was inducted in their first year of eligibility. At the ceremony, Nirvana performed with Joan Jett, St. Vincent, Lorde, and Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon taking turns behind the mic. The performance not only featured hits from the band’s past but also paid homage to the legacy of their late frontman, Kurt Cobain.

For Carole King and Tina Turner, they have the potential to become the second and third women behind Stevie Nicks to obtain multiple inductions. King was nominated in 1990 alongside Gerry Goffin. Turner was nominated as part of the Class of 1991 alongside Ike Turner.

The inductees will be announced in May, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is planning to throw a full ceremony in the fall. Last year’s live ceremony was postponed and eventually scrapped in favor of an HBO special honoring the inductees. The Class of 2020 included Nine Inch Nails, Whitney Houston, the Notorious B.I.G., Depeche Mode, T. Rex, and the Doobie Brothers.  Fans can get involved by casting their vote for who should be inducted at the Rock Hall website through April 30th. The top 5 vote-getters will be submitted as a “fans’ ballot” alongside the ballots submitted by various members of the music industry. Check out the official announcement and the full list of nominees below.

From the Official Rock Hall YouTube Channel
2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees:

Mary J. Blige 

Kate Bush 


 Foo Fighters 

The Go-Go’s 

Iron Maiden 


Chaka Khan

 Carole King

 Fela Kuti 

LL Cool J

New York Dolls 

Rage Against the Machine

Todd Rundgren

Tina Turner 

Dionne Warwick

Calipost.com is a leading news source in the business, entertainment, and music industries.

Latest Articles